I Give You a Hot Tip, You Flatter Me in Public: That Something You Might Be Interested In?

Seen This Before? If Not, It's Time to Get On the Twitter Stick

As a career reporter, I’m just not in the habit of surrendering information except in the form of stories, hopefully the kind that grab viewers’ attention, and send assignment editors and managers at competing stations into fits of swearing and desk-kicking as their run to their Nextels to scream at their reporters, asking why they didn’t get what I just had.  (Happens mostly in dreams, but it’s still a nice feeling)

At any rate, I’m willing to reveal an insider’s goldmine to all you local newsers who, maybe like me, agonize about the morning meeting and the inevitable glare of the news director with his, “and what’ve you got to offer today?”  Lately, I’ve had more to bring to the table.  And I’m going to tell you how I’ve done it.  And yeah, snarky tech-resisters, it involves Twitter.  So if you can’t handle that, just scroll on down and look at the pretty pictures of news choppers.

But before I go into detail, there’s a catch.  I’m going to want something in return.  So, to quote Bob Ryan on HBO’s “Entourage,” is that something you might be interested in?  If so, read on.

On Monday nights, for the Twitterati who find themselves suddenly putting ampersands before people’s names out of Twitter habit, the gathering known as #journchat has become a crowded, rowdy, and deeply informative experience.  Journalists, PR pros, and bloggers gather in on Twitter to ask questions of each other–to say, in essense, hey, give me hand here, what are YOU people all about?  The Q&A brings down walls and leads to a lot of common ground, funny lines, and–get this–story ideas.

Is That Something You Might Be Interested In?

"Is That Something You Might Be Interested In?"

If you’ve ever read a press release (and we all have) and wondered, “who the hell writes this crap,” well, an hour or two talking free-form and no-holds-barred with PRs can be revealing.  Many of them just don’t know what journos want or need.  You like phone calls or emails?  I recently griped about the hit-every-email-in-box-in-the-damn-newsroom syndrome with a “just between you and me” story pitch.  You go in, you say, “hey, I heard from somebody…” and stop when the other reporters smirk and eventually say in unison, “we got that email too.”  FAIL.

Anyway, my advice to you:  get on the Twitter, and check it out. (And while you’re there, don’t forget to follow me: www.twitter.com/standupkid)

Now.  Payback.  Next Monday, #journchat’s taking nominees for a guest moderator.  I think it’s time a local newser took the helm for a night, and with your help, I.  Can.  Be.  That.  Man.  All I ask?  Comment on this post and let the world know why I’m (just talking points here–you know, to guide your thinking) witty, smart, fair, and profoundly gifted at anticipating the changes roiling the world of local tv news–and PR.  Or something like that.

The deadline is Wednesday.  A raft of rave comments will–hopefully–show a groundswell of support for me as the next moderator du jour.  So, you know, throw a guy a bone.  If you want.  I’d appreciate it.  And even if you don’t, come join #journchat next Monday and learn some new stuff about PR, tv news, blogging and social media that might help you keep your job for another week or so.

So.  Tell me.  Is that something you might be interested in?

15 Comments

Filed under Local News 2.0, Social Media

15 responses to “I Give You a Hot Tip, You Flatter Me in Public: That Something You Might Be Interested In?

  1. trilby

    It’s clear that you are passionate about journalism and definitely interested in the direction it’s going. Too many people are in denial; they refuse to take the blinders off and see where the business is headed but you seem to not only be accepting it but embracing it as well. The future of news is still in flux and your blog has quickly become the place to go to keep track of the ever-changing industry. Not to mention the fact that you’re…what was it? Oh yeah – witty, smart, fair and profoundly gifted at anticipating the changes roiling the world of local tv news and PR. Or something like that.

  2. Hey @standupkid I think you’d make a great moderator for #journchat You have my vote.

  3. Acutally, just reading this post has made me want to join the Monday #journchat. I’ve always heard about it, but now I’m actually interested in following and joining the converstation next week.

    Only if @standupkid is the moderator, though. Have to give you props for catching my attention on this subject!

  4. Mr. @Standupkid,

    I find your insight quite compelling and have been taking notes for what? 13 years now? You helped me to get involved with the great resource that is Twitter and for this, I’m truly grateful. I didn’t think I’d be saying that a month ago.

    But with the news business (and local sports in particular-notice I didn’t use the handle localsportsdude) in state of free fall that’s faster than a 32-foot per second/per second pebble thrown from the top of the Empire State Building, it was time for me to give in and “get full-on digital”.

    With this move, I’ve been able to drive more and more traffic to my blog (notice I’m not even pimping the blogs-as pitching is not allowed until the last 5 minutes of #journchat) and REALLY take blogging seriously.

    As another journalist, I would selfishly like to see you moderate #journchat next week-not only because your my internet idol, but because I think you would do a great job!

  5. I think it’s time a journalist took over. I think you’d be great. You have my vote!

  6. I’m excited about someone with your level of energy and experience moderating/guiding our next #journchat discussion. You clearly have a positive vision of what #journchat is and should be, and I think can lead a chat that will be mutually beneficial to the parties involved.

    Great pitch, and I look forward to Monday!

  7. Mark –

    You have my vote. Enthusiastically.

    You wanna know why? Because I really enjoyed your comments last night on #journchat and I particularly benefited from some of our direct messages back and forth. I like your style — upfront and direct but not afraid to hear another point of view.

    On top of which, there are always negative comments about #journchat being too “PR-centric” (and on which I have a whole other opinion!). I think it would be terrific to have #journchat moderated by a journalist rather than a PR practitioner.

    Go get ‘em!

    Anne

  8. chris majewski

    Mark Joyella, you definitely get my vote. Don’t know anyone who would do a better job.

  9. Lisa

    Mark,

    Yes, yes and yes! You would be an ideal moderator. You’ve got experience and so much more! Insight, wit and dare I say, charm! You’ve got my vote.

  10. Mark… you are definitely “witty, smart, fair and profoundly gifted” — and that’s me saying that having actually worked with you in the past. If there were more people like you in news, news would be great!

    You’ve got my vote… I remember always hearing the criticism by people I worked with at the Miami Herald as a young intern… “People in TV can’t write.” “Print journalists are real journalists.” To me, you are a “real journalist” and it shows even in your Tweets. :) It’s obvious you care and you are an extraordinary writer whose site I visit often because I love the way you tell a story. Of course, your on-camera stuff is great too — but to me, reading your message shows you’ve got the stuff.

    Hope Monday works out well for you!
    ~Erin Rodriguez

  11. There is no doubt in anyone’s mind at this point in time. Standupkid, YOU ARE THE JOURNCHAT MODERATOR.
    You have definitely got my vote!! I loved this blog post!! I’m going to:
    1) Tweet this article;
    2) Subscribe to your fine blog; and
    3) I’m gonna follow you ASAP! You’re goin’ places!

  12. You’ve got mine too!

  13. You had me — a former newspaper reporter — at “the hit-every-email-in-box-in-the-damn-newsroom syndrome with a “just between you and me” story pitch.”
    Looking forward to getting your tweets too.
    Good luck.

  14. Great pitch! You’ve got my vote as well.

    Enjoy your tweets always; looking forward to #journchat next week.

    Lanora

  15. Hey Mark, I missed Journchat this week. Did you moderate? If not, I hope you’re in the line up soon.

    I look forward to your tweets.

    Cheers,
    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

