Laid Off? At Least You Get Severance Pay, Right? Uh, Right?

Longtime WPIX/NY reporter Glenn Thompson, laid off by Channel 11 last December, now says the company won’t budge on the severance pay he believes he’s owed.  Thompson tells the New York Post’s Michael Starr:  “They were supposed to pay my severance immedi ately on Jan. 6, the day my contract officially expired,” he says. “No one’s given me any answers at all.”

The Old School WPIX Logo

Thompson, who spent twenty years at PIX, now insists he can’t even get a returned phone call from the station.  “It’s pretty outrageous to me,” he says. “They’re con tractually bound to pay me. I said to them, ‘I’m gonna have to sue.’ I want my severance.” Ch. 11 officials had no com ment yesterday.

Starr reports part of the problem may be PIX owner Tribune’s bankruptcy filing, which has much of its business dealings tied up in the courts.  Still, c’mon people.  Two decades?  Can we get a call back?  The speed with which beloved members of the station’s “family” become nonentities–if it happens faster and with more ice-cold shoulderiness in any other business, I’d love to know.

1 Comment

Filed under Cutbacks

One response to “Laid Off? At Least You Get Severance Pay, Right? Uh, Right?

  1. May God save us. One more depressing economic melt down after effect.

Leave a Reply

